...on the sea with Scotland’s lifeboats



Dive into Launch! - a cinema release of archive film and video celebrating RNLI communities across Scotland. Directed by Shona Thomson in a co-production with Screen Argyll. With a brand new immersive soundtrack composed and recorded by John Ellis, Arun Ghosh, David McEwan, Jason Singh, Jenny Sturgeon.

︎ Watch the trailer ︎︎
︎ Experiencing
 Launch!

︎ The stories on-screen

︎ Creating the soundtrack

︎ Donate to support

︎ Thank you!


“It takes a community to launch a lifeboat...”


︎  ︎  ︎  ︎


Photo credits
Launch! is part of Scotland’s Year of Coasts and Waters 20/21

Return to Harbour / Home




THE OPEN SEA

Experiencing Launch!


Launch! toured cinemas across Scotland throughout the Autumn and Winter 2021.
Cinemas screening the 44-minute film collaborated with local RNLI stations to celebrate the important work of their volunteers. Each event was different with special extras like additional films of your local lifeboat, or an in-person discussion afterwards with RNLI crew, or a pre-recorded blether with the folk involved in making the film.
THANK YOU to everyone who made the screenings possible.

What audiences felt about experiencing Launch!


As a sailor myself I know a fair bit about the RNLI but I thought the film offered some really interesting insights into the people involved and what they do. I loved the historical montages & the crew photos. All in all visually captivating - I even felt slightly seasick at one point! 

Great to see the contribution that women make to the RNLI.

In watching Launch!, I felt increasingly drawn into an involvement in the journey through the sea. That sense seemed to parallel the community involvement behind every lifeboat, station, crew and launch, not only in my childhood but also now.” 
Loved the film. Loved the soundtrack. Thank you.

Launch! reminds me of my late Grandad, because when I was young he always donated to the RNLI.

Launch! made me feel proud to have volunteered with the RNLI.

Launch! beautifully and evocatively captured the love, passion and commitment individuals, communities and the country has for the work of the RNLI and its volunteers.

I enjoyed the archive footage and thought the musical score was great. The chat with a local RNLI volunteer added hugely to the experience.” 

2021 SCREENINGS

Sun 21 Jun LERWICK, SHETLAND Mareel
Sun 5 Sep LERWICK, SHETLAND Mareel, at Screenplay Film Festival
Wed 15 Sep GREENOCK Waterfront Cinema
Thu 16 Sep & Sun 19 Sep INVERNESS Eden Court
Sat 25 Sep FORT AUGUSTUS Screen Machine
Tue 28 Sep TARBERT, HARRIS Screen Machine
Sun 3 Oct LINICLATE, BENBECULA Screen Machine
Sat 9 Oct CASTLEBAY, BARRA Screen Machine
Sat 9 Oct CROSSAPOL, TIREE Screen Argyll, at An Talla Community Hall
Sun 10 Oct DUNOON Dunoon Burgh Hall
Wed 13 Oct WICK Lyth Arts Centre, at Northern Lights Festival
Wed 13 Oct COLL Screen Machine
Sat 16 Oct ELGIN Moray Playhouse
Sat 16 Oct & Sun 17 Oct ABERDEEN Belmont Filmhouse
Sat 23 Oct MONTROSE Montrose Playhouse
Sun 31 Oct STIRLING Macrobert Arts Centre
Sun 7 Nov BRODICK, ARRAN Screen Machine
Wed 10 Nov EDINBURGH Filmhouse
Sat 13 Nov MACDUFF Macduff Fish Market with NEAT
Sun 14 Nov TOBERMORY, MULL An Tobar
Sun 14 Nov PORT ELLEN, ISLAY Screen Machine
Thu 18 Nov ST ANDREWS The Byre Theatre
Thu 18 Nov DUMFRIES Robert Burns Centre Film Theatre
Thu 18 Nov PORTREE, SKYE An Talla Mor 1820
Thu 25 Nov TIGHNABRUAICH Screen Machine
Sat 27 Nov BO’NESS Hippodrome Cinema
Thu 2 Dec KYLEAKIN, SKYE Screen Machine
Thu 2 Dec WIGTOWN Driftwood Cinema, Wigtown Church Hall
Fri 3 Dec MALLAIG Screen Machine
Sat 22 Jan STORNOWAY, LEWIS An Lanntair




Get a taste for the Open Sea...



“...Ghosh’s clarinet howl whipped up the drama of the call-out and Singh’s percussive vocalising complimented the heaving waves and stricken vessels on screen to evoke the sea as a fearsomely hissing, growling entity...”

The Scotsman ︎︎︎︎
Launch! at Celtic Connections
[Replace with Celtic Connections video]


Prior to national lockdown, we debuted a short version of Launch! as part of international music festival Celtic Connections on 18 January 2020 in the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall. We were honoured to be invited as part of the Coastal Connections Day line-up for Scotland’s Year of Coasts and Waters 20/21.

This special event meant Jason, Jenny, Arun and John performed their brilliant soundtrack live alongside the film for over 300 people.

NEXT PAGE     HOME     INDE